Anacostia River Trail loop

Posted on September 8, 2013. Filed under: Bike, bikeing, interesting |

Today, I completed a very nice loop on the Anacostia River Trail. I ride my bike every day, but I almost never just go out just for a ride.  However, this is a great 40-60 minute loop that anyone can do very easily.  If you live in DC, you should do it at least once.  It is very beautiful!! 

The loop I rode, is highlighted in red.

Anacostia River Trail Loop

Anacostia River Trail Loop

I started at Stanton Park, then went south and then east on Pennsylvania Ave. (passing near Eastern Market, which was not open yet), and then south on 11th St.

I then crossed the river on the brand new 11th St SE bridge, which has a very wide pedestrian walkway.  I then arrived in a part of Anacostia that I had never before visited.  I noticed also a CapitalBikeShare station (Good Hope Rd & MLK Ave SE) and a sign indicating that the Anacostia Metro station was half a mile away.

I then paralleled the river until I got to Benning Road, where there is also a CapitalBikeShare station (Anacostia Ave & Benning Rd NE / River Terrace).

During this stretch, I saw maybe 4-5 runners and some rowers on the river.  It was a gorgeous ride and I recommend it to anyone with a bike or a willingness to get on a BikeShare bike.  It could take you 20-30 minutes going at a very relaxed pace.  It is completely on bike path, no traffic to deal with.

I went east on south side of the sidewalk on Benning Road, and passed the entrance to Kingman Island.  I  then resumed on west side of the River Trail heading south past the Stadium and past the boat houses and yacht clubs where I took these photos:

photo 5

photo 4

photo 3

photo 2

photo 1

For more info see: http://www.anacostiaws.org/images/maps/AnacostiaRiverWaterTrailGuide.pdf

or

http://www.capitolriverfront.org/go/riverwalk-trail

update:

I did the loop in reverse today (December 21, 2013) and made this video.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Anacostia River Trail loop”

RSS Feed for Worthy Mouse Clicks Comments RSS Feed

[…] This extension of the trail is not yet officially open, but there were many people riding it.  We started just north of Benning Road and turned around at the Blandensburg Waterfron Park.  The trail passes the Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens and some very lovely sections of river and wetlands.  It looks like it could be completed in the next 4-8 weeks. In the meantime, ride the section that goes from RFK to the Nationals Stadium: https://wlerik.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/anacostia-river-trail-loop/ […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

